
New Mexico Technical Services Staff

Victoria Suazo-Chanza



Outline
HR Office– Roles & 
Responsibilities  

Changes in Hiring 
Process (QuickHire)

Employee Personal 
Page

FMLA – Family Medical 
Leave Act

FFLA – Family Friendly 
Leave Act

MaxiFlex

Credit Hours

Federal Employees 
Health Benefit

TSP 

Retirement (CSRS) & 
(FERS)  

Standards of Official 
Conduct

AGLEARN Training 
System



NRCS New Mexico Human 
Resources Office 

Roles & Responsibilities

Human Resource Officer –
Vickie Suazo-Chanza

Personnel Management Specialist –
Rose Navarrete

Personnel Management Specialist –
Elsie Barber



Services Provided
Recruitment and Staffing

Classification and Position Management

Employee Relations 

Performance Management

Affirmative Employment

Employee Recognition

Employee Benefits

Pay Administration

Training 

Processing Personnel Actions



Changes in Hiring Process
QuickHire

QuickHire’s Role in the NRCS Staffing Process

QuickHire Functionality 

- Manage Vacancies (create, copy & edit)

- Create & Assign Questions (KSAs)

- Mange Applicants (review qualifications, 
review scores, issue correspondence & 
certificates of eligibles) 

- Generate Reports

Applicants submit Applications via web.

Selecting Officials review applications on-line.



National Finance Center (NFC) 

Employee Personal Page

Saves Time – Allows employees to view 
and change data. 

Convenient – Access 24 hours a day, 7 
days a week from home or at work.

Up-to-Date – Earnings and leave 
information is available right after the 
payroll process is complete. 



National Finance Center (NFC) 

Employee Personal Page

Employees responsibility to update personal 
information such as address, health, tsp, federal tax, 
savings bonds, direct deposit, financial allotments 
etc.

You may access the EPP through the National 
Finance Center Web Site at   www.nfc.usda.gov



EPP allows Employees serviced by NFC to view the 
following information:

Payroll,

Leave

Travel

Health and life insurance 

Savings bond

W-2

Other personal information 

National Finance Center (NFC) 



Employee Self Service 
Employees should make every effort to update the 
following online:

Residence address

Federal and state tax withholding

Financial allotments

Direct deposit, 

Health insurance

Savings bond,

Thrift savings plan (TSP) contributions 





Employees who do not have an NFC PIN number must 
request one using the steps outlined in the following 
slides.  

1.  Go to the  www.nfc.usda.gov website.

2.  Click on My EPP



Read the message and click on “accept”.



Click on “sign up”.



Select the organization you work for and click “continue”. 



Enter your SSN.  Click on “sign up for both”.



The employee will receive a message stating he or she is signed up for the 
Employee Personal Page.  The PIN number will be mailed to the employee in 
about 1 week.



Family Leave

FMLA-Family Medical Leave Act

FFLA-Family Friendly Leave Act



Family Medical Leave Act - FMLA
May take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave during any 
12-month period for:

Birth of a son or daughter & the care of the 
newborn.  

Placement of a child with the employee for 
adoption or foster care.

Care of employee’s spouse, son or daughter under 
the age of 18 or adult child developmentally 
unable to care for self, or parent with a serious 
health condition.

A serious health condition of the employee that 
makes the employee unable to perform the 
essential functions of his or her position.



Family Medical Leave Act - FMLA
Definition of a Serious Medical Condition

Illness, injury, surgery, impairment, physical or 
mental condition that involves:

- Inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or 
residence care facility.

- Continuing outpatient therapy or treatment 
by a licensed or certified health care 
provider.

- A health recovery period.

- Continuing medical evaluations or 
examinations.



Common cold
Flu
Earaches
Upset stomach
Minor ulcers

Periodontal disease
Headaches (other than 
migraines)
Routine dental or 
orthodontia problems

A Serious Medical Condition is NOT:

Family Medical Leave Act - FMLA



How to request FMLA leave:

Provide at least 30 calendar day notice (when the 
need for the leave is foreseeable).

In the event of a medical emergency or unexpected 
availability of a child for adoption or foster care, 
provide notice within a reasonable time appropriate 
for the circumstances.

Employee or their personal representative may invoke 
the FMLA.

Cannot be denied if leave was not foreseeable and 
employee unable to request due to circumstances 
beyond their control.

Family Medical Leave Act - FMLA



Family Friendly Leave Act - FFLA

Expanded coverage as of June 20, 2000 allows 
the use of sick leave for family care and 
bereavement and added care for a family 
member with a serious health condition.

Definition of family member is much broader 
than FMLA.

May be used in addition to invoking FMLA leave 
to care for family member with serious health 
condition.



A Family member is defined as:

Spouse and parents thereof;

Children, including adopted children, and 
spouses thereof;

Parents;

Brothers and sisters, and spouses thereof;

Any individual related by blood or affinity whose 
close association with the employee is 
equivalent of a family relationship.

Family Friendly Leave Act - FFLA



Allows employees to use up to 13 days (104 hours) 
of sick leave for family care or bereavement 
purposes.

No restrictions on leave balance for the first five 
days (40 hours) used.

To use the additional 8 days (64 hours), must 
maintain a sick leave balance of at least 80 hours.

May only be advanced the first 40 hours of sick 
leave.

Family Friendly Leave Act - FFLA



MaxiFlex
What is MaxiFlex?

MaxiFlex is an optional tour of duty consisting of a 
basic 8 hour day.

Employees may vary stating and ending times so 
long as they are between 6:00 am and 6:00 pm.

MaxiFlex tours must have a daily posting of clock 
hours in the first two lines of the “Actual Hours”
section of the timesheet, if different than the 
normal tour of duty posted on the timesheet.



Credit Leave

Employees who work more that 8 hours a day are 
entitled to earn credit leave, up to a maximum of 2 
hours per day.
Employee must establish an estimated daily arrival 
time.  A variation by more than ½ hour must be 
discussed with your supervisor in advance.
Earning credit leave does not require approval.  
Credit leave can be earned and used in 15 minute 
increments and carried from pay period to pay 
period. 
No more than 24 hours of credit leave can be 
carried from pay period to pay period. 



Credit Leave

Credit hours cannot be used until they are 
earned.  Credit used must have beginning and 
ending clock hours on the “Leave Clock Hours”
section of the timesheet.

With prior approval from the State 
Conservationist, credit hours may be earned for 
work that begins after 6:00 pm.  An employee 
must get approval from their supervisor before 
they take their credit leave.



To change to a MaxiFlex tour of duty, the 
employee must request approval from their 
supervisor prior to the beginning of a pay 
period.

Credit leave cannot be earned for travel or 
work on Saturday or Sunday.

Credit leave may only be earned when the 
employee is performing work.  Credit leave 
generally may not be earned for the time 
spent traveling to or from a temporary duty 
point.  

Exempt employees can earn credit leave while 
on travel status. 

Credit Leave



Federal Employees Health Benefits 
Program



Federal Employees Health Benefits 
Program

Who Can Enroll?

A permanent Federal employee with a  regularly 
scheduled tour of duty;

A temporary employee with an appointment for 
longer than one year; or

A temporary employee with an appointment 
limited to one year or less and has completed 
one year of current continuous employment 
(excluding any break in service of 5 days or less)



When you first become eligible, you may decide   
whether to participate or not.

New employees have within 60 days of 
appointment date to enroll.

If you don’t enroll when you first become eligible, 
you won’t be able to enroll until the next Open 
Season (November) or until another event that 
permits enrollment

Federal Employees Health Benefits 
Program



Qualifying Event
What is a Qualifying Event?

Addition of a dependent;

Birth or adoption of a child;

Changes in entitlement to Medicare or 
Medicaid for you, your spouse, or dependent;

Loss of a dependent;

change in your employment status or that of 
your spouse or dependent from either full-time 
to part-time, or the reverse;



Death of your spouse or dependent;

Divorce or annulment;

Marriage;

Significant change in the health coverage of you 
or your spouse related to your spouse’s 
employment;

Start or end of an unpaid leave of absence by 
you or your spouse; and

Start or end of your spouse’s employment.

Qualifying Event



FEHB

Payment for FEHB Coverage:

Full-time employees pay 25% of the total health 
insurance premium.

If you’re a part-time employee, the Government 
contribution toward your health benefits is 
prorated in proportion to the percentage of full-
time service you are regularly scheduled to 
perform.

If you are a temporary employee, a former 
spouse, or a person enrolled under temporary 
continuation of coverage, the Government does 
not contribute toward the cost of your 
enrollment.  You must pay both the Government 
and employee share of the cost.



Types of Plans

Fee for service plan – a health plan that will 
either reimburse you or pay the medical provider 
directly for each covered medical expense after 
you receive the service.

When you need medical treatment, you visit the 
doctor or hospital of your choice.

Either you or your provider file claims to your 
health plan.

Examples: *Mail Handlers, *Government 
Employees Hospital Association, *Blue Cross Blue 
Shield.

*(fee for service plan with a preferred provider –
if you use the non preferred provider your out of 
pocket expenses are higher.



Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOs)

Health plan that provides care through a network 
of physicians, hospitals, and other providers in a 
particular geographic area.

HMOs charge a co-payment for primary physician 
and specialist visits and generally no deductible or 
coinsurance for in-hospital care

Types of Plans



Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOs)

Most HMOs ask you to choose a doctor or medical 
group to be your primary care physician

You can receive care from another provider not in 
the HMOs if it’s emergency care; you have 
obtained a referral for the care or the plan has a 
reciprocity arrangement

Examples: Lovelace and Presbyterian

Types of Plans



Family Members Covered

Your spouse

Unmarried dependent children under age 22

Legally adopted child and natural child

Grandchildren (need proof as a dependent)

Stepchild or foster child

Disable dependent – (an unmarried dependent 
child age 22 or over, who is incapable of self-
support because of disability that existed before 
age 22  - proof is required).



Loss of Coverage

Your spouse immediately loses coverage under 
your self and family enrollment when you divorce 
or annulment is final.

Your child immediately loses coverage under self 
and family enrollment when your child reaches 
age 22 (unless they are incapable of self 
support).



Loss of coverage

Your child marries.

Your disabled child age 22 or over marries or 
becomes capable of self-support.

Your stepchild or foster child stops living with you in 
a parent-child relationship.

Your family member will get a 31 day extension of 
coverage and be eligible to elect temporary 
continuation of FEHB coverage.



Loss of coverage

Your former spouse may be eligible to enroll for 
FEHB coverage under the Spouse Equity provisions 
if: 

They divorced from you during your Federal 
employment or receipt of annuity;

They were covered as a family member under 
an enrollment at least one day during the 18 
months before your marriage ended;

Is entitled to a portion of your annuity or to a 
former spouse survivor annuity; and

Does not remarry before age 55.



Loss of Coverage

Your family members lose coverage when you 
change from self and family to self only 
enrollment.

- You should immediately let Human Resources 
know when a family member loses coverage.  
If your plan pays for services received after 
your family member’s coverage ends, you 
must repay the plan.



Enrollment & Change in 
Enrollment

What events permit enrollment or change in enrollment?  
Change in family status such as:

Marriage

Birth or adoption of a child

Acquisition of a foster child

Legal separation

Divorce

A change in employment status.

You are reemployed after a break in service.

You return to pay status after your coverage terminated 
during leave with out pay for more than 365 days.

Your pay increases enough for premiums to be withheld.



Enrollment or Change in 
Enrollment

Events that Permit Enrollment or a Change in 
Enrollment.

You are restored to a civilian position after serving 
in the uniform service.

You change from a temporary appointment to 
an appointment that entitles you to a 
Government contribution.

You change to or from part-time to career 
employment.



If you or family members lose FEHB or other 
coverage:

Under another federally sponsored health 
benefits program.

Under Medicaid or similar State-sponsored 
program for the needy.

Because your membership terminates in the 
employee sponsoring the FEHB plan; or 

Under a non-federal health plan.

Enrollment or Change in 
Enrollment



When one of these events occur, you may:

Enroll
Change your enrollment from self only to self 
and family; or
Change your enrollment to another FEHB plan 
or option.
You may also waive or cancel your waiver of 
premium conversion at the same time.

Enrollment or Change in 
Enrollment



Enrollment Cancellation

If you waived participation in premium 
conversion, then you can cancel your 
enrollment at any time. 

Your cancellation takes effect on the last day 
of the pay period.  Your family members are 
not eligible for 31 day extension coverage, 
temporary continuation of coverage or 
conversion to an individual policy.



Enrollment Cancellation

You may not enroll again until an event 
occurs that will permit enrollment (such as an 
open season or change in family status).

- Keep in mind that you must meet the five-
year requirement for continuing health 
coverage into retirement. When you 
cancel your insurance you are accepting 
the risk.



You can stay informed about the FEHB and 
participating plans by going to their web sites on 
www.opm.gov/insure - where you can compare 
health plans and get information on their plan 
quality.

FEHB Website



Retirement

Employee must request a retirement package 
from the Human Resource Office 6 months 
prior to anticipated retirement date

Employee must request a pre-retirement 
counseling session at least 3 months prior to 
anticipated date.

Not a good idea to wait until the last minute, 
because it will affect the timely receipt of the 
employees annuity and lump sum leave



Retirement

Items to Consider:

Health benefits 

Life insurance

TSP

Survivors annuity

Beneficiaries 

Annuity estimate



AgLearn Training  



The End

Any Questions?


